Euro 2020 how many teams?

Euro 2020 how many teams?

Euro 2020 takes place this summer 2021 and we now know all of the teams that have booked their place in the cup. It will feature a total of 24 competitors, with some of the game’s heavyweights set to feature. Learn more about ‘Euro 2020 how many teams’ below.

Euro 2020 how many teams?
Teams in Euro 2020

Euro 2020 qualified teams

A total of 24 teams qualify for the Euro. Of those, 20 teams – the top two teams in each of the 10 groups – qualified automatically. The other four teams qualify through the play-offs. The automatic qualifiers are: England, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Portugal, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Denmark, Croatia, Wales, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Austria, France, Turkey, Belgium, Russia, Italy and Finland.

Qualified from the play-offs

As well as the 20 teams that qualify for the cup by finishing in the top two of the 10 groups, four teams qualified via the play-offs. A total of 16 teams took part in the play-off stage and their places were achieved through the UEFA Nations League. These four teams progressed from the play-offs: Hungary, Slovakia, Scotland and North Macedonia.

Meet the qualified teams
Meet the qualified teams

How qualification from the groups was secured

Group A

England secured qualification through an emphatic 7-0 win over Montenegro in the penultimate qualifying match, while Czech Republic also qualifed with a 2-1 victory over Kosovo.

Group B

Ukraine became the first team from Group B to advance to Euro 2020 after winning 2-1 against Portugal on October 14. However, Portugal joined them with a win over Luxembourg in their final group match, with Cristiano Ronaldo scoring his 99th international goal in a 2-0 victory.

Group C

Germany and the Netherlands both qualified on November 16, though their finishes had to be confirmed on the final day of qualifiers.

Group D

Switzerland qualified in style in their last match, beating Gibraltar 6-1, while Denmark made it through with a final-day draw against Ireland.

Group E

Croatia qualified on November 16 with a 3-1 win over Slovakia. They were joined by Wales who won 2-0 over Hungary on the final day of qualification on November 19.

Group F

Spain became the sixth team to qualify for Euro 2020 after drawing against Sweden in October.  Sweden themselves then qualified in November with a 2-0 over Romania.

Group G

Poland qualified with a 2-0 win over North Macedonia in October, while Austria won qualification after defeating the same side 2-1 a month later.

Group H

Turkey were the first side to qualify fom Group H after drawing 0-0 with Iceland – a result which was also enough to send France through.

Group I

Belgium became the first team to qualify for Euro 2020 when they beat San Marino on October 10. After that, Russia joined them in clinching qualification after their away win over Cyprus on October 13.

Group J

Italy became the second team to qualify for Euro 2020 when they beat Greece 2-0 on October 12. Finland secured the other spot from Group J after seeing off Liechtenstein 3-0 on November 15. Moreover, they will be making an appearance in the tournament finals for the first time.

Bitcoin soccer betting
Bitcoin soccer betting

Bitcoin soccer betting

If you are sports fan and want to play bitcoin soccer betting, you can play it on It is one of the most popular and reliable platforms to visit.


The Euro’s has always been a tough competition to win, but this year looks particularly hard. This is because six of the current top ten FIFA ranked sides will feature during the summer. This means that fans will enjoy watching quality football. Moreover, they will have the chance to witness some of the most exciting matches in football history.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *